MISD Fine Arts Director recognized with statewide honor

MISD Fine Arts Director recognized with statewide honor

Deb Shaw named Administrator of the Year

November 16, 2023 — Midland ISD Fine Arts Director Deb Shaw has been recognized as the 2023 Texas Thespians Administrator of the Year. Shaw received the honor during the Texas Thespians State Festival held in San Antonio over the weekend.

Now in her 18th year leading the district's Fine Arts department and 32nd year in fine arts education, Shaw said she was completely floored by the recognition, and honored to represent the district in this capacity. The award presentation included accolades from colleagues, parents and students from MISD thanking her for her commitment to leadership, fine arts, and our students.

"Deb Shaw is a powerhouse of an administrator," said MHS Theatre Director Tiffany Gardner-Moore. "She is a champion of kids and holds them to the highest of expectations."

"Her passion for the arts, combined with her exemplary organization and managerial skills, have propelled the fine arts department to new heights," added Education Foundation Executive Director Anita Gamertsfelder.

Parent Luis Gonzalez said "Ms. Shaw is truly irreplaceable and one-of-a-kind," and students thanked her for her inspiration and guidance toward personal and artistic growth.

Shaw's leadership oversaw a slew of additional awards earned by MISD students during the festival. Midland High's theatre program performed A Midsummer Night's Dream, earning awards for best costume design, hair design, makeup design, set design, props design, and technical crew. Junior Aubrey Pulliam was named Best Stage Manager.

MHS Theatre students were recognized for numerous honors for individual competitions, including 14 national qualifiers. Categories included group acting, monologue, solo musical, and more. Four MISD students earned Texas Thespians Scholarship interviews with senior Xochi Odukwu winning a $1,000 scholarship. Odukwu and fellow senior Jeff Wood were cast in the All-State Mini-musical.

Full list of MISD honorees:

A Midsummer Night's Dream 

  • Best Costume Design
  • Best Hair Design
  • Best Makeup Design
  • Best Set Design
  • Best Props Design
  • Best Stage Manager, Aubrey Pulliam
  • Best Technical Crew

Individual competitions:

  • Group Acting (Perfect Score and a MainStage Finalist) -- the Mechanicals & Puck from A Midsummer Night's Dream with Seniors Alex Gonzalez, Brianna Rivera and Valeria Guillen, Juniors A.J. Hernandez, Madison Coleman, Blane Wheeless and Sophomore Mica Delgado
  • Group Acting -- the Lovers from A Midsummer Night's Dream with Seniors Charlotte Browder, Landry Wood, Jett Wood and Sophomore Sam Davis
  • Monologue -- Senior Charley Gonzales
  • Monologue -- Senior Arin Velasquez
  • Solo Musical -- Senior Xochi Odukwu

Texas Thespians Scholarship Interviews: 

  • Seniors Brenden Mitchell, Landry Wood, Valeria Guillen and Xochi Odukwu.
  • Xochi Odukwu received a $1000 Texas Thespians Scholarship

MHS Theatre - All-Star Troupe Award for 2023.

Seniors Xochi Odukwu and Jett Wood were cast in the Texas Thespians All-State Mini-Musical, "Spiderman: Turn On the Lights."

Deb Shaw, Midland ISD Director of Fine Arts, 2023 Texas Thespians Administrator of the Year.

Media Relations Contact:

Sam Eaton

Communications Specialist

432-240-1043 | samuel.eaton@midlandisd.net