• SUMMER INTERSESSION OVERVIEW 

    Intersession weeks during June will provide select students opportunities for more personalized attention in smaller groups, while teachers will benefit from additional planning time provided daily to plan for differentiated and targeted instruction based on instructional gaps. 


    Grades PK-6, Mondays - Thursdays, June 6 -June 30 

    Bunche (PK-6):  Serving Bunche, DeZavala, Milam, Pease, South, and Washington Campuses

    Fannin (PK-6):  Serving Fanning, Bowie, Emerson, Franks, Parker, and Rusk Campuses

    Jones (PK-6): Serving Jones, Bonham, Burnet, Henderson, Lamar, and Long Campuses

    Scharbauer (PK-6): Serving Scharbauer, Bush, Fasken, Greathouse, Santa Rita, and Yarbrough Campuses 


    Grades 7-8, Mondays - Thursdays, June 6 -June 30 

    Alamo (7-8): Serving Alamo and Abell Campuses

    San Jacinto (6-8): Serving San Jacinto and Goddard Campuses


    Grades 9-12, Mondays - Thursdays, June 6 -June 23 

    Coleman High School:  Serving Coleman High Students

    Legacy High School: Serving LHS and LFHS 

    Midland High School: Serving MHS and MFHS


    Contact Information

    Site

    Principal

    Email

    Summer Office

    Bunche

    JR Napoles

    JR.napoles@midlandisd.net 

    432-240-8603

    Christin Nix

    christin.nix@midlandisd.net 

    432-240-8604

    Fannin

    Morgan Robertson

    morgan.robertson@midlandisd.net 

    432-240-6803

    Jones

    Andrea Rodriguez

    andrea.rodriguez@midlandisd.net 

    432-240-7203

    Scharbauer

    Maxine Gonzales

    maxine.gonzales@midlandisd.net 

    432-240- 8003

    Alamo

    Melanie Hall

    Melanie.Hall@midlandisd.net 

    432-240-2818

    San Jacinto

    Benjamin Villarreal

    benjamin.villareal@midlandisd.net 

    432-240-3806

    Legacy High

    Lena Thompson

    lena.thompson@midlandisd.net 

    432-240-2006

    Midland High

    Rene Barrientes

    rene.barrientes@midlandisd.net 

    432-240-3003

           

    Site

    Clerk

    Summer Clerk Email

    Attendance #

    Bunche

    Rosealene Horton

    rosealene.horton@midlandisd.net 

    432-240-8600

    Fannin

    Morgan Mora

    Morgan.fletcher@midlandisd.net 

    432-240-6804

    Jones

    Selina Cortez

    Selina.cortez@midlandisd.net 

    432-240-7208

    Scharbauer

    Margaret Rangel

    margaret.rangel@midlandisd.net 

    432-240-8000

    Alamo

    Nivea Rayos

    nivea.rayos@midlandisd.net 

    432-240-2800

    San Jacinto

    Tracy L. Bradford

    tracy.bradford@midlandisd.net 

    432-240-3800

    Legacy High

    Victoria Navarrette

    victoria.navarrette@midlandisd.net 

    432-240-2037

    Midland High

    Maricruz Cuellar

    maricruz.cuellar@midlandisd.net 

    432-240-3009

     

    Special Programs

    PreK-K Bilingual

    Arcie Pizarro

    arcie.pizarro@midlandisd.net

    432-240-1488

    Extended School Year

    Laura Arthur

    laura.arthur@midlandisd.net

    432-240-1446


    Breakfast and Lunch

    Breakfast and lunch will be provided.

    Transportation

    Transportation will be provided for eligible students.  Please reach out to the summer campus for more information.

    Bus Routes - Initial Bus Routes are Posted- Please contact the summer school campus using the contacts above for added details. 

    Prek-K Bilingual Bunche Bus Routes

    Bunche and MHS Bus Routes

    Fannin and SJ Bus Routes

    Jones and LHS Bus Routes

    Scharbauer and Alamo Bus Routes


    Intersession and Promotion (K-8)

    Promotion and course credit to the next grade level are based on mastery of the curriculum.  In addition to the factors in law that must be considered for promotion, mastery shall be determined as follows:

    1. Course assignments and unit evaluations shall be used to determine student grades in a subject. An average of 70 or higher shall be considered a passing grade.
    2. Mastery of the skills necessary for success at the next level shall be validated by assessments that may either be incorporated into unit final exams or may be administered separately.  Mastery of at least 70 percent of the objectives shall be required.

    In grades 1–8, promotion to the next grade level shall be based on an overall average of 70 on a scale of 100 based on course-level, grade-level standards (Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills) for English/Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies.

    For students served by Special Education, the ARD committee serves as the Retention Committee. 

    For an Emergent Bilingual (formerly referred to as EL or LEP), the committee must include a representative of the LPAC.

    Successful completion of Summer Intersession may be used for consideration of promotion when students have not demonstrated mastery in English/Language Arts or mathematics by the end of the regular school year if the student did not have an overall average of 70 on a scale of 100 based on course-level, grade-level standards (Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills) for English/Language Arts, mathematics, science, and social studies.


    Calendar